Humanities

Humanities 2018.jpg

Vision

A caring community of thinkers, innovators and leaders who inspire and serve.

Mission

To nurture responsible global citizens who are rooted in Singapore and passionate about the humanities.

Staff

Head of Department

  • Mr Hardi Zein (hardi_zein@schools.gov.sg)

Senior Teacher

  • Mr Yong Eng Kiat (ST / Social Studies & History) (yong_eng_kiat@schools.gov.sg)

Teachers

  • Ms Lenny Tusya Samsudin (lenny_tusya_samsudin@schools.gov.sg)
  • Ms Soh Si Ying (soh_si_ying@schools.gov.sg)
  • Ms Pearlin Tan Wei Ern(tan_wei_ern_pearlin@schools.gov.sg)
  • Mrs Ang Mei Lin Amy (leong_mei_lin_amy@schools.gov.sg)
  • Mdm Shirley Ho Hui Zheng (ho_hui_zheng@schools.gov.sg)
  • Mr Eu Lee Chung Don (eu_lee_chung@schools.gov.sg)
  • Mrs Elizabeth Chan Hui Tang (elizabeth_tio@schools.gov.sg)
  • Ms Wang Sichuan (wang_sichuan@schools.gov.sg)
  • Mdm Nur Fadilah Yusran (nur_fadilah_yusran@schools.gov.sg)
  • Mdm Jane Cheng Hooi Yu (cheng_hooi_yu@schools.gov.sg)
  • Mdm June Liau Ming Ming (liau_ming_ming@schools.gov.sg)
  • Mr Tan Hong Yi Jacob 
  • Mr Tan Chee Wah (FAJT/POA) (tan_chee_wah@schools.gov.sg)
  • Mdm Vivien Tok Hwee Pheng (CAJT/GY) (Tok_Hwee_Pheng_Vivien@schools.gov.sg)
  • Mdm Loo Huang Yi (loo_huang_yi@schools.gov.sg)

Allied Educator

  • Mr Muhammad Hazmi (muhammad_hazmi@schools.gov.sg)
  • Mr Riyan Sukarno (riyan_sukarno@schools.gov.sg)

Subjects offered by Department

  1. Geography
  2. History
  3. Combined Humanities: Social Studies / Geography (Elective)
  4. Combined Humanities: Social Studies / History (Elective)
  5. Principles of Accounts

Key programmes of Department

Ang Mo Kio Heritage Trail

AMKT-1.jpg
The trail aims to cultivate students’ interest in their local community and enhance their understanding of Ang Mo Kio’s unique heritage and socio-economic development in Singapore’s history through an interdisciplinary approach.

Geographical & Historical Investigations

GI-1.jpg
The investigations are carried out as part of the Lower Sec learning journeys to the Singapore Botanic Gardens, National Museum of Singapore and Fort Canning Hill to gather data and research in a chosen field of focus.

Competitions & Enrichment
Potential and interested students are trained to participate in the NUS Geography Challenge, Singapore History workshop programme, Financial Literacy and National Cashflow Competitions.

Humanities Week
The Humanities week is a celebration of the students’ achievements in the various humanities subjects and to raise the awareness of the impact the Humanities education has on the world and Singapore.

Humanities Reading Programme
The Humanities Reading Programme cultivates the interest amongst students in reading current affairs and enhances their knowledge and perspectives of the world around them.

2017 Hong Kong Humanities fieldtrip
A selected team of interested students will embark on an overseas experiential fieldtrip to enrich their experience and deepen their learning in the Humanities. Participants will experience first-hand a range of physical/urban environments of geographical and historical significance.